Spring Cleaning

Oh the dreaded spring-cleaning, or maybe you enjoy it, either way it has to be done!  I have started to notice the sun streaming in through the windows at home, and while I like the sunshine, it is bringing with it a very unpleasant truth…my house if full of dust and fingerprints!  I don’t just mean on those high shelves you never see, but on my cupboards, coffee maker (although it is used everyday), walls, kitchen chairs, etc.  This sunshine is starting to stress me out!  Every time I sit down to relax and look around the room I see more dust and finger prints.  I struggle with anxiety and worry as it is, and this messy house thing stirs that up and makes me crazy!  I can’t relax until I get rid of the dust I find, or wipe away the fingerprints left behind on just about every surface.  I even get agitated when I clean something off, and then the next day I have to do it again…that darn sun, it is all its fault right?!  I stumbled upon a passage tonight that I have read before, but it struck me differently this time, it was more personal this time.  It reads:

Blind Pharisee! First clean the inside of the cup and dish, and then the outside also will be clean.  – Matthew 23:26

 

It made me think about what is inside of me. Do I get so upset at how things look on the outside because of way I look on the inside?  Wow.  If I could clean up my insides by letting go of my anxiety and cast it on the Lord as he instructs me to do in 1 Peter 5:7, what would that mean for the outside of me (my relationships, my self image, my house)?  Would I still get upset over such simple things?  Has anyone in my family ever died due to the lack of dusting the house or removing fingerprints on the door of my fridge?  Of course not!  For me this year’s spring-cleaning means more then just cleaning my house, I am working on cleaning up what I hid in the inside.  I am going to get to the bottom of my struggles with anxiety because I know God doesn’t want me to worry.  I can’t fully glory Him if I am caught up in worry and what-ifs.

 

I hope this spring-cleaning season brings you more than just a clean house too!  – Cris

One thought on “Spring Cleaning

  1. Thanks for sharing Cris, what a great article. It’s sounds like you’re on your way to healing the inner you just by what you wrote. May God bless you on your journey.
    Love and hugs, Kim

Leave a Reply

