Pure Faith

Kim shares:

In my life I have learned how important it is to pray because I have experienced answered prayers and have seen others experience it as well.  Sometimes the importance of talking to God is overlooked or when asking for prayer, people don’t really believe God will answer.  Someone once told me, “God is not moved by tears alone, but by pure faith.” Basically saying that I could cry my eyes out for help for me or someone else’s situation, but if I didn’t truly believe there was a faithful God who would answer me, it didn’t really matter that I was “praying.”

When I first began learning how to talk to God, I didn’t do it much because I just didn’t know how, and I was scared I would do it wrong.  I’ve learned He doesn’t judge or criticize, if anything He’s joyous.  Looking down smiling, saying well done, happy that I am reaching out to Him.   I’ve learned there is no wrong way if I have a true heart.  I found out it was as easy as talking with one of my friends, or not even saying anything at all, as God knows me that well.

Fellow MOPS mom and friend, Cris, helped teach me the basics. I remember a couple years ago asking, “Now how do you pray? What do I say? How do I start?” I don’t know how many times.  An important thing I learned from her is learning to give thanks to God always.  I have done my best to see that in any situation when praying for family members, friends, or myself that there is always something to be grateful for.

Philippians 4:6-7 says, “Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything.  Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.  Then you will experience Gods peace, which exceeds anything we can understand.  His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.”

I thought this was a beautiful prayer worth sharing from Saint Theresa

May today there be peace within.
May you trust God that you are exactly where you are meant to be.
May you not forget the infinite possibilities that are born of faith.
May you use those gifts that you have received, and pass on the love that
has been given to you.
May you be content knowing you are a child of God.
Let this presence settle into your bones, and allow your soul the freedom to
sing, dance, praise and love.
It is there for each and every one of us.
‘Worry looks around,
Sorry looks back, Faith looks up’

 

One thought on “Pure Faith

  1. Kim–I’m so blessed to see how God is using you through writing! It’s awesome to see you fulfilling one of those purposes that kept popping up during our coaching!

Leave a Reply

