Delicious Black Bean Burgers and Turkey Burgers

Black Bean Burger Photo From Whole Foods

This month I have decided to pass along a couple of recipes that I have not had the opportunity to fix for you. They may be a little different than what you are used to and if so I hope you will take a chance and try one or both of them. We eat a lot of burgers at my house, my husband would eat them a couple times a week if I would prepare them. The rest of us get a little tired of a plain old cheeseburger, not to mention that much ground beef isn’t good for anybody, so I looked around and found a couple of substitutes that even my husband will eat. The first are  black bean burgers which are completely meatless but still offer a ton of protein and have a great flavor. The second are turkey burgers and are enhanced by a delicious pesto basil mayo. I sometimes like make some of the patties small and serve them on slider buns for the kids, it’s just the right amount of food and much easier for their little hands to handle.

Black Bean Burgers

1 16 oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 green bell pepper, cut into 2 inch pieces
1/2 onion, cut into wedges
3 cloves garlic
1 egg
1 Tbls chili powder
1 Tbls cumin
1 tsp chili sauce or hot sauce
1/2 cup bread crumbs
(I double this recipe for my family)
preheat oven to 375
1. Mash beans with a fork until thick and pasty.
2. In a food processor, finely chop pepper, onion and garlic. Stir into beans.
3. In a small bowl, stir together, egg, chili powder, cumin and hot sauce.
4. Stir egg mixture into beans. Mix in bread crumbs until mixture is sticky and holds together. Divide into 4 patties.
5. Place patties on a lightly oiled baking sheet. Bake 10 minutes on each side.
I haven’t decided the best way to serve these. Sometimes I like to put a slice of tomato and some pickles on top just like I would a regular burger but other times I like to put a little dollop of sour cream on with my tomato, either way, they are one of my favorite meals.

 

Turkey Burgers

1/2 cup bread crumbs
1/4 cup italian salad dressing
2 garlic cloves
1 pound turkey burger
2 turkey sausages, casings removed

 

Pesto mayo
2 Tbls mayo
1 Tbls basil pesto

 

1. Mix together first 5 ingredients and form into patties.
2. Cook over medium heat about 7 minutes on each side.
3. Meanwhile combine mayo and pesto and spread onto buns.
These burgers come together really quickly with the use of a few convenience foods. I buy my bread crumbs, salad dressing, pesto and when I’m pressed for time use minced garlic, 1 tsp equals 1 garlic clove, instead of fresh. Also the recipe calls for two sausages but the pack I buy comes with five so I use 2 1/2 and freeze the rest for the next time I make these.
Enjoy!


One thought on “Delicious Black Bean Burgers and Turkey Burgers

Leave a Reply

